top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChen Moore and Associates

SunSentinel Mention

January 29, 2021

Peter Moore, P.E., F.ASCE, ENV SP, LEED AP

President, Chen Moore and Associates

Last week: Last week, I wrote about participating in a conference that was entirely in virtual reality, so I feel an obligation to debrief you all on the experience. There are some current limitations – the headset has limited battery, using the technology takes a good amount of time to learn, and the VR environment can make you get vertigo – but there is real merit in immersive technologies. I loved the ability to turn my head and “look” at someone when they were speaking to me – it felt like a real meeting. It won’t replace a handshake, but VR can transform.

Looking ahead: I’ve already had a dozen meetings on legislation that is coming up impacting my business and the environment. In the coming weeks, I’ll continue to advocate, locally and in Tallahassee, for the positions I support. I’m very excited about proposed legislation from state Reps Overdorf and LaMarca, putting a priority on water infrastructure funding and resiliency, respectively. As an engineer, as a native Floridian and as a father, these are truly the most important issues that we’re facing in the next couple decades. We need to address these issues today, and we all need to get involved.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SunSentinel Mention

February 19, 2021 Peter Moore, P.E., F.ASCE, ENV SP, LEED AP President, Chen Moore and Associates Last week: If you are like me, you looked at the weather across the country the past week and said, th

SunSentinel Mention

February 19, 2021 Peter Moore, P.E., F.ASCE, ENV SP, LEED AP President, Chen Moore and Associates Last week: If you are like me, you looked at the weather across the country the past week and said, th

SunSentinel Mention

February 12, 2021 Peter Moore, P.E., F.ASCE, ENV SP, LEED AP President, Chen Moore and Associates Last week: Last week, the water supply of Oldsmar, Florida, population 15,000, was briefly in jeopardy

bottom of page